Our Paris Boutique

3 rue Hautefeuille, 75006 Paris
Métro stations: Odéon (lines 4 and 10) or Saint Michel (line 4 and RER C)

Schedule a personal appointment in our Paris boutique

Our boutique is currently open and you may also book an appointment.

Early history

Rue Hautefeuille is one of the oldest streets in Paris, dating to the 3rd century when the city was under Roman occupation. The name Hautefeuille is mentioned in records dating back to the 13th century. The street was lined with tall, bushy trees, where the monks played Jeu de Paume (early tennis) under the “high leaves” (haute feuille). The painter and sculptor Gustave Courbet had his atelier on this street in the 1800s, and the French poet Charles Baudelaire was born here in 1821. Mr. Baudelaire is credited with coining the term modernité (“modernity”) to describe the experience of living in an urban metropolis, and the responsibility of “artistic expression” to capture it!

A royal touch

The inhabitants of No. 3, re-built in its current form in 1683, reportedly lent money to King Henry IV without any certainty of being repaid. The King was so appreciative that he gave them the status of nobles – and they were reimbursed generously.

Before Atelier Choux, No. 3 housed many creative activities in the 19th century; it was formerly a reading cabinet (where adults gather to hear a story), a wrapping paper store, the office of a book editor and the press office of one of the first newspapers in Paris.

Right next to our boutique you can see a beautiful, historically classified “tourelle” or “turett” with whimsical carvings, very much in the Atelier Choux style. There used to be a second tourelle on our boutique, but it was removed in the 17th century to allow for merchant carriages to pass through.

When you exit the boutique, turn right to see the magnificent St. Michel fountain (constructed in 1858) with its dreamy pink and green marble. Or, exit and turn left, cross Blvd. St. Germain and another dreamy tourelle awaits you!

Notre boutique à Paris

3 rue Hautefeuille, 75006 Paris
Stations de métro : Odéon (lignes 4 et 10) ou Saint Michel (ligne 4 et RER C)
10h – 18h, lundi au vendredi

Atelier Choux boutique

Histoire et Hautefeuille

La rue Hautefeuille est l’une des plus anciennes rues de Paris, datant du IIIème siècle, lorsque la ville était sous occupation romaine. Le nom de Hautefeuille est mentionné dans des documents remontant au XIIIe siècle. La rue était bordée de grands arbres touffus, où les moines jouaient au Jeu de Paume sous les hautes feuilles. Le peintre et sculpteur Gustave Courbet avait son atelier dans cette rue dans les années 1800, et le poète français Charles Baudelaire y est né en 1821. On attribue à M. Baudelaire l’invention du terme modernité pour décrire l’expérience de la vie dans une métropole urbaine et la responsabilité de l’expression artistique pour la capturer !

Une touche royale

Les habitants du n° 3, reconstruit dans sa forme actuelle en 1683, auraient prêté de l’argent au roi Henri IV sans aucune certitude d’être remboursés. Le roi les a tellement appréciés qu’il leur a donné le statut de nobles – et ils ont été généreusement remboursés.

Avant l’Atelier Choux, le n° 3 a abrité de nombreuses activités créatives au XIXe siècle; c’était autrefois un cabinet de lecture (où les adultes se réunissent pour écouter une histoire), un magasin de papier d’emballage, le bureau d’un éditeur de livres et le service de presse d’un des premiers journaux de Paris.

Juste à côté de notre boutique, vous pouvez voir une belle tourelle, classée historique, avec des sculptures fantaisistes, tout à fait dans le style de l’Atelier Choux. Il y avait autrefois une deuxième tourelle sur notre boutique, mais elle a été enlevée au XVIIe siècle pour permettre le passage des carrosses des marchands.

En sortant de la boutique, tournez à droite pour voir la magnifique fontaine St Michel (construite en 1858) avec son marbre rose et vert de rêve. Ou bien, sortez et tournez à gauche, traversez le Blvd. Germain et une autre tourelle de rêve vous attend !